What Happens When You Reset your wireless router, Resetting is different than resetting a router. Restarting means you turn off the router and then turn it on again to turn it off and on. But what exactly happens when you restart your router?

Your WiFi router manual probably says that resetting means reverting the device to its original settings, which is factory settings. All Wi-Fi routers must have a “reset button” located somewhere on the device where it cannot be accidentally pressed. It is usually located at the back or bottom of the router.

Most WiFi routers require more effort to press the reset button. Some of them, like D-Link, recommend using a paper clip to get to the reset button. This is because most models do not include a reset button. Of course, the clip has to be bent to make it look like a reset button.

However, keep in mind that you cannot just press the button as you wish, as you will have to repeat all the settings you made when setting it up. If you do not want all the settings to be erased, you must be very careful not to accidentally touch the reset button.

Restart? Restart? Restart?

The terminology can be a bit tricky. People use the phrases “reboot,” “reboot,” and “reboot” interchangeably, but these phrases can mean very different things.

“Reboot” and “reboot” mean the same thing: turn off the device and then turn it on immediately. Most computers have a “Reset” button somewhere, but if it’s labeled “Reset,” don’t worry. The meeting is the same.

The real problem may arise when you start to use the word “reset.”

In the case of your home router or modem, “Reset” is usually a button on the back that completely clears all settings and takes you back to where you started. In general, this is not what you want to do. Restarting your modem and/or router should be the last resort.

By pressing the “Reset” button you can remove your WiFi password, change the name of your network or even disconnect it completely.

How to Factory Reset a One Button Router

What Happens When You Reset your wireless router
What Happens When You Reset your wireless router

Almost all routers use a different management interface, but that’s fine; You may be able to skip it entirely. First, take a closer look at the router; Most have a reset button on the back or bottom. You may need an unwound paperclip to press it down.

On many routers, holding down the button for 10 seconds will reset the router to factory settings. If that doesn’t work, try the 30-30-30 method:

  • Hold down the button for 30 seconds.
  • Unplug the router for 30 seconds.
  • Plug the router back in.
  • Press and hold the reset button for another 30 seconds.

When and why restart your router

A reboot is helpful, but should almost always be used as a last resort when trying to troubleshoot a problem. Some routers come with a reset button or option. The reset buttons are usually located on the back of the device and must be accessed with a paper clip or other small object.

When you use these buttons, your router will reset to factory settings. If you are having difficulty restarting or resetting your router, consider contacting HelpCloud technicians for remote assistance to help you resolve the issue.

There are some incidents that require a reboot that has nothing to do with the detectable router issue. For example, in May of last year, the FBI asked router users to reboot their routers. It turns out that many routers around the world were infected with malware called VPNFilter. The malware was able to collect information and disable the devices.

How to find your router’s login information

To reset your router, you will need to access the router’s settings page. To do this, you will need to enter your router’s username and password.

By default, most routers use admin for the username and password fields. You can try these first and see if they work.

If the above logins don’t work, you should check your router manual and see what the default login credentials are. You can also find the default login credentials for most routers online.

What happens if you restart your router too fast?

If you accidentally reboot the router too fast, it’s not a big deal. By quick reset, we simply mean quickly pressing the standard quick reset button found on the front or side of most routers, perhaps briefly pressing it when you don’t mean to.

Or maybe you accidentally unplugged the router’s plug from the wall or turned off the power outlet. In almost all cases, this does not change any settings but will interrupt the connection for a very short period of time.

Here’s a summary of what to expect if you do:

  • All devices are connected to the router. Most of the time, you won’t even need to re-enter the password (sometimes some devices may have to)
  • The Wi-Fi username and password remain the same.
  • All router settings remain the same
  • There will be a connectivity interruption when the router reboots (usually for about 1-2 minutes).
  • Downloads can be canceled and have to be restarted. Sometimes you can pick up where you left off, but not always.

To completely reset the router, all you have to do is press a pin into the mains hole or hold down the reset button for 5-10 seconds. We’ll cover this in the next section, and it’s very difficult to do any of these things accidentally. So if you find that you quickly pressed a reset button on the router when you didn’t mean to, in almost all cases it will just initiate a quick reset, which is no big deal.

So if you’ve rebooted your router quickly, there’s nothing to worry about other than a few annoyances from other users on the network whose streaming/games/Skype got interrupted. Users who were downloading large files and had to reboot may be a bit more bothered. But nothing changes and after restarting the router, you can continue as before

Important:

Process after procedure unfolds throughout the course of the process, so you will need to be fully prepared.